SCAJ Leadership

2020- 2021 Board of Governors


J. Richards McCrae, III, President
Richard J. Foster, President Emeritus

Bert G. Utsey, III, President-Elect
Jennifer S. Burnett, Vice President
Thomas A. Killoren, Jr., Secretary/Treasurer
James L. Ward, Jr., Immediate Past President


Governor - Circuit 1: David W. Williams
Governor - Circuit 2: Daniel W. Luginbill
Governor - Circuit 3: John R. Moorman
Governor - Circuit 4: Cody T. Mitchell
Governor - Circuit 5: John G. Felder, Jr.

Governor - Circuit 5: Ed "Punky" Holler
Governor - Circuit 5: William R. Padget

Governor - Circuit 5: Joseph O. Thickens
Governor - Circuit 6: Elizabeth Hyatt
Governor - Circuit 7: Patrick E. Knie
Governor - Circuit 8: Thomas E. Hite. III
Governor - Circuit 9: Kevin R. Dean

Governor - Circuit 9: G. Rutledge Durant
Governor - Circuit 9: Badge Humpries
Governor - Circuit 9: Richard A. Hricik
Governor - Circuit 9: Michael J. Jordan
Governor - Circuit 9: David B. Lail
Governor - Circuit 9: Olivia C. Palmer
Governor - Circuit 10: Samantha P. Nelson
Governor - Circuit 11: Ashby Lawton Jones
Governor - Circuit 12: Brian S. Yost
Governor - Circuit 13: Eric H. Philpot
Governor - Circuit 13: James C. Sproat
Governor - Circuit 14: William F. Barnes, III
Governor - Circuit 15: Andrew W. Kunz
Governor - Circuit 16: Ashley White Creech

SCAJ Minority Delegates

Sydney J. Lynn
John T. Mobley

AAJ Governors

Mark D. Chappell
O. Fayrell Furr, Jr.
Pamela R. Mullis 
Mark C. Joye

AAJ Delegates

Elizabeth M. Burke
Michael R. Jeffcoat
Nihar M. Patel

SCAJ President's Council Delegate

W. Hugh McAngus, Jr.

Section Chairs 

Consumer & Securities Law: Graham L. Newman
Criminal Law: Heath P. Taylor
Real Estate and Construction Law: John C. Hayes, IV
Employment Law: James Porter Paul
Family Law: Ashby Lawton Jones
Medical Negligence Law: Lee D. Cope
Social Security Law: Stacy E. Thompson
Torts & Negligence: Mark J. Bringardner
Workers' Compensation: Gerald E. Reardon
Young Lawyers: Liam D. Duffy



Contact SCAJ

With full-time staff available to our members, SCAJ is here to answer your questions.  Give us a call or send us an email and let us know how we can serve you!

Contact Us



The South Carolina Association for Justice (SCAJ) was founded over 50 years ago by a small group of trial lawyers. Since then, our mission has been to serve our members and those we are sworn to protect.  We work to uphold and defend the constitutions of our state and nation. We fight tirelessly to protect the rights of the individual; to seek justice through open and fair courtrooms; to resist unjust laws; to support policies that hold wrongdoers accountable; to strengthen the civil justice system through education; and to uphold the highest standards of ethical conduct and integrity in the legal profession.

Learn More


Members Only

    List Servers
    Member Directory
    Update Your Information
    Expert Depositions
    Legal Forms
    Privacy Policy



    1901 Gadsden Street
    Columbia, SC 29201