SCAJ Leadership

2019- 2020 Board of Governors


James L. Ward, Jr., President
Richard J. Foster, President Emeritus

J. Richards McCrae, III, President-Elect
Bert G. Utsey, III, Vice President
Jennifer S. Burnett, Secretary/Treasurer
Theile B. McVey, Immediate Past President


Governor - Circuit 1: David W. Williams
Governor - Circuit 2: Daniel W. Luginbill
Governor - Circuit 3: Ryan A. McLeod
Governor - Circuit 4: Cody T. Mitchell
Governor - Circuit 5: John G. Felder, Jr.

Governor - Circuit 5: Ed "Punky" Holler
Governor - Circuit 5: William R. Padget

Governor - Circuit 5: Joseph O. Thickens
Governor - Circuit 6: Elizabeth Hyatt
Governor - Circuit 7: Patrick E. Knie
Governor - Circuit 8: Thomas E. Hite. III
Governor - Circuit 9: Badge Humphries

Governor - Circuit 9: Kevin R. Dean
Governor - Circuit 9: Richard A. Hricik
Governor - Circuit 9: David B. Lail
Governor - Circuit 9: Michael J. Jordan
Governor - Circuit 9: Matthew E. Yelverton
Governor - Circuit 10: vacant
Governor - Circuit 11: Ashby Lawton Jones
Governor - Circuit 12: Brian S. Yost
Governor - Circuit 13: Eric H. Philpot
Governor - Circuit 13: Russell W. Patrick
Governor - Circuit 14: William F. Barnes, III
Governor - Circuit 15: Andrew W. Kunz
Governor - Circuit 16: Ashley White Creech

SCAJ Minority Delegates

Carl L. Solomon
Sydney J. Lynn

AAJ Governors

Mark D. Chappell
O. Fayrell Furr, Jr.
Pamela R. Mullis 
Mark Joye

AAJ Delegates

Michael R. Jeffcoat
Anne McGinness Kearse
Nihar M. Patel

SCAJ President's Council Delegate

S. Randall Hood

Section Chairs 

Consumer & Securities Law: Graham L. Newman
Criminal Law: Heath P. Taylor
Real Estate Law: John C. Hayes, IV
Employment Law: James Porter Paul
Environmental Law: Thomas A. Killoren, Jr.
Family Law: Ashby Lawton Jones
Social Security Law: Stacy E. Thompson
Torts & Negligence: David B. Lail
Workers' Compensation: Gerald E. Reardon
Young Lawyers: Sydney J. Lynn



Contact SCAJ

With full-time staff available to our members, SCAJ is here to answer your questions.  Give us a call or send us an email and let us know how we can serve you!

Contact Us



The South Carolina Association for Justice (SCAJ) was founded over 50 years ago by a small group of trial lawyers. Since then, our mission has been to serve our members and those we are sworn to protect.  We work to uphold and defend the constitutions of our state and nation. We fight tirelessly to protect the rights of the individual; to seek justice through open and fair courtrooms; to resist unjust laws; to support policies that hold wrongdoers accountable; to strengthen the civil justice system through education; and to uphold the highest standards of ethical conduct and integrity in the legal profession.

Learn More


Members Only

    List Servers
    Member Directory
    Update Your Information
    Expert Depositions
    Legal Forms
    Privacy Policy



    1901 Gadsden Street
    Columbia, SC 29201